Serengeti National Park is a national park in Tanzania that stretches over 14,763 km2. It is located in the Mara and Simiyu regions and contains 15,000,000 hectares (37,000,000 acres) of the savanna. It is well known for the largest annual animal migration in the world of over 1.5 million blue wildebeest, 250,000 zebra and has the largest lion population in Africa. The Ngorongoro conservation area and Serengeti nationwide park are synonymous; it is vitally hard to have a Serengeti countrywide park itinerary devoid of Ngorongoro conservation area. So exactly what does the Ngorongoro conservation area provides?


The Serengeti is thought to hold the largest lion population in Africa due in part to the abundance of prey species. More than 3,000 lions live in this ecosystem. The Park is a protected area since 2005 together with the Maasai Mara National Reserve. The population density of the African leopard is estimated at 5.41 individuals per 100 km2. Other carnivores include the cheetahs, which are widely seen due to the abundance of gazelle. 3,500 spotted hyenas, two species of jackals, The African golden wolf, honey badger, striped hyena, caracal, serval, seven species of mongooses, and two species of otters. The East African wild dog was reintroduced to the area in 2012 after disappearing in 1991.

Ngorongoro Tanzania

Ngorongoro Conservation Area

The Ngorongoro Conservation Area is a protected area and a World Heritage Site. Its located in the Crater Highlands area of Serengeti. The area is named after Ngorongoro Crater, a large volcanic caldera within the area. The conservation area is administered by the Ngorongoro Conservation Area Authority. An arm of the Tanzanian government and its boundaries follow the boundary of the Ngorongoro Division of the Arusha Region.

The Ngorongoro Wildlife Conservation is restricted to human settlement and subsistence farming in the Crater.  Masai pastoralists were restricted and were relocated to Ngorongoro from their ancestral lands to the north.

Great migration

The great migration is the world’s longest overland migration. The complete migration route is around 800 km. South of this migration route covers the Ngorongoro Conservation Area where around half a million wildebeests are born between January and March. By March, at the beginning of the dry season, roughly 1.5 million wildebeest and 250,000 zebras start to migrate heading north towards Maasai Mara in Kenya. Common eland, plains zebra, and Thomson’s gazelle join the wildebeest. In April and May, the migrating herds pass through the Western Corridor. To get to the Maasai Mara, the herds have to cross the Grumeti and Mara Rivers where around 3,000 crocodiles lie in wait. For every wildebeest captured by the crocodiles, 50 drown. When the dry season ends in late October, the migrating herds start to head back south. Around 250,000 wildebeests and 30,000 plains zebras die annually from drowning, predation, exhaustion, thirst, or disease.

Cresta Help Chat
Send via WhatsApp